Press "Enter" to skip to content

House of Lies Soundtrack

By Jessica O’Donell
Staff Writer

“House of Lies,” a Showtime TV series that entered its third season on Jan. 12, is a comedy-drama about a management consultant from a top tier firm. Starring Academy Award nominees Don Cheadle (“Crash”) and Kristen Bell (“Veronica Mars”), the show quickly has you hooked. Cheadle, portraying the lead character Marty Kaan, is a self-loathing management consultant who brings home a seven-figure paycheck, but struggles to be happy in his home life, as he deals with a divorce from his drug addicted wife, and attempts to raise his son. The show, which released its season three soundtrack on March 3, features jazzy songs by many artists.

The album is highlighted by slow-tempo jazz songs, which are relaxing to listen to. Its 12 tracks are a compilation from artists such as Gary Clark Jr., Aloe Blacc, and Count Basie. “Brains Out” by Kim Cesarion stands out for its pop-techno vibe. Other songs include “This Love is Here to Stay” by Norwegian singer/songwriter Thomas Dybdahl, and “Clean the House,” by Reggae and Soul group Fat Freddy’s Drop. These songs are slow, but definitely worth a listen.

Each track on the album is very distinct, especially vocally, but fit together very well as a collection. Two-time Grammy-nominee Chris Douridas worked with Grammy-winning producer Larry Klein to put together the album. The songs were selected from the show’s three current seasons. “House of Lies” will have its final episode of the third season on April 6. The soundtrack can be purchased on iTunes.

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *