Press "Enter" to skip to content

ECC Cross-Country Sweep

Caitlin Smith

The C.W. Post Cross-Country teams swept the competition at the 2011 East Coast Championships on Sunday, October 23rd. While the men took home their third consecutive ECC title, the women’s team made history with its first ECC Championship title. Head Coach Rob Morris was honored as the ECC Men’s and Women’s Cross Country Coach of the Year.

On the men’s side, junior Christian Altamura was first to cross for the Pioneers. He secured the third spot with a time of 26:01. Junior Matt O’Keefe finished with the fifth overall time with a time of 26:31, and fellow junior Ray Coyle took the sixth slot with a time of 26:34. These three top runners earned a spot on the All-Conference First Team. Graduate student Richard Schmidtz ran a time of 26:48 to finish in the 8th spot, earning a spot on the All-Conference Second Team. The men’s squad had its top five runners finish within the first 17 finishers, earning a total of 29 points and securing its title as the ECC Champion.

In the women’s race, sophomore Jennifer McLaughlin secured a sixth place finish with an overall time of 19:52, earning herself a spot on the All-Conference First Team.  Teammates Alexa Montegari, a freshman, Caitlin Smith and Jessica Wiking, both juniors, raced their ways to an All-Conference Second Team finish. They completed the race in tenth, eleventh and fourteenth place. Sophomore Gigi Price secured the fifth position for the Pioneers, finishing in 15h place. The women’s team earned a total of 56 points to take home its first ECC title in Pioneer history.

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *