Press "Enter" to skip to content

4-0 Loss Stuns Men’s Soccer; Season Ends

By Michael Otero
Sports Editor

The no. 1-ranked men’s soccer team, who had the top seed in the NCAA Division II Tournament, fell to no. 7 Adelphi University in the third round, 4-0, at the Pioneer Soccer Park in Brookville, N.Y. on Thursday, Nov. 17. The loss was the first for the Pioneers in nearly a calendar year—the first one at home in five years.

Photo by Philip James Andersson
Photo by Philip James Andersson

The Panthers from Adelphi, who improved to 19-1-1 on the season with the victory, jumped out to a two-goal lead in the first 20 minutes. Junior midfielder, Federico De Oliveira, was the playmaker, scoring the match’s first goal from the top of the box and assisting on the second tally in the 17th minute.

Just before halftime, the Pioneers were dealt another blow when the Panthers netted another goal to go up three. In the second half, the Pioneers could not stop the Panther train that rolled into town. Another Adelphi goal put the nail in the coffin and sent the Panthers on to face the University of Charleston.

In the loss the home side was outshot in the first half 11-4, which set the tone for the game. For the game, the Panthers also had three times as many shots on goal and a 9-4 advantage in corner kicks. Also worth noting, the Pioneers committed 17 fouls compared to 10 for Adelphi, and four yellow cards to Adelphi’s one.

The team’s season came to a bitter end, but the Pioneers had a season to remember nevertheless. With an 18-1-1 record, good enough for a .925 win percentage, the team had several highs this season including: sophomore striker, Charlie Ledula, and senior back, David Arvidsson, being named East Coast Conference offensive and defensive players of the year, reaching the no. 1 rank in Division II, and finishing the regular season undefeated for the first time in program history.

Photo by Philip James Andersson
Photo by Philip James Andersson

The curtain has closed on the 2016 season for the Pioneers and they will return in the fall of 2017. Graduate and senior athletes on this year’s roster include: David Arvidsson, Seb Baxter, Alex Billington, Sean Collins, Maxime Devillaz, Joey Forgaard, Alex Hailes, Erik Berthagen, Oliver Hollingsaeter, Johann Kristjansson, Jason Lampkin, Jesper Malmstrom, Ludvig Brisby Jeppsson and Ian Jonsson.

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *